batch file [executing EXEs]

Hi all! i'm trying to make a. BAT file that works like that: c:\winnt\. . . \program1. exe c:\winnt\. . . \program2. exe but when i run the bat file it doesn't run the program2. exe while program1.

Customization Tweaking 1789 This topic was started by ,


data/avatar/default/avatar14.webp

26 Posts
Location -
Joined 2002-07-02
Hi all!
i'm trying to make a .BAT file that works like that:
 
------------------
"c:\winnt\...\program1.exe"
"c:\winnt\...\program2.exe"
------------------
 
but when i run the bat file it doesn't run the program2.exe while program1.exe is running. I'd like it ran both program at the same time.
how to do that?
thanks a lot!

Participate on our website and join the conversation

You have already an account on our website? Use the link below to login.
Login
Create a new user account. Registration is free and takes only a few seconds.
Register
This topic is archived. New comments cannot be posted and votes cannot be cast.

Responses to this topic


data/avatar/default/avatar16.webp

1615 Posts
Location -
Joined 2000-03-25
Quote:Hi all!
i'm trying to make a .BAT file that works like that:

------------------
"c:\winnt\...\program1.exe"
"c:\winnt\...\program2.exe"
------------------

but when i run the bat file it doesn't run the program2.exe while program1.exe is running. I'd like it ran both program at the same time.
how to do that?
thanks a lot!

hmmm
that is an interesting question
i am not sure that you can do that
it is kind of the nature of a script
one thing completes and then next thing runs until it is done

you should try learning some visual basic
that would surely be able to do it

data/avatar/default/avatar14.webp

26 Posts
Location -
Joined 2002-07-02
OP
I know something about VB. But not enought to build a script.
If someone could send me a sample I would be grateful.

data/avatar/default/avatar19.webp

347 Posts
Location United States
Joined 2002-03-21
Do it this way:
 
start "c:\winnt\...\program1.exe"
start "c:\winnt\...\program2.exe"

data/avatar/default/avatar14.webp

26 Posts
Location -
Joined 2002-07-02
OP
thanks a lot Davros! that works!

data/avatar/default/avatar16.webp

1615 Posts
Location -
Joined 2000-03-25
Quote:Do it this way:

start "c:\winnt\...\program1.exe"
start "c:\winnt\...\program2.exe"

cool
ya learn something new everyday

data/avatar/default/avatar08.webp

391 Posts
Location -
Joined 1999-07-24
Slightly different method is
 
start /w "c:\winnt\...\program1.exe"
start "c:\winnt\...\program2.exe"
 
This will make is wait after one program wait before another one.