DELL 8200 plans

ok here are my plans and I am asking you all if it would work. I have a 8200 dell well the PC800 memory cost way to much for me to upgrade to 1gb I have 512mb now. So I was thinking could I buy a new case with a good power surpply and a new mother board and buy 1GB of memory and a new CPU all new for the case.

Windows Hardware 9627 This topic was started by ,

data/avatar/default/avatar19.webp

2 Posts
Location -
Joined 2005-06-11
ok here are my plans and I am asking you all if it would work.

I have a 8200 dell well the PC800 memory cost way to much for me to upgrade to 1gb I have 512mb now.

So I was thinking could I buy a new case with a good power surpply and a new mother board and buy 1GB of memory and a new CPU all new for the case. But is it possible to move the other hardware in my dell 8200 computer to the new mother board and new case?
like my
video card
sound card
CD-rom
floppy drive
harddrive
modem
ect...

I am kind of new at doing this if there is a website to help me out that would be great. Also if you would like to give me any other tips would be great to.

Participate on our website and join the conversation

You have already an account on our website? Use the link below to login.
Login
Create a new user account. Registration is free and takes only a few seconds.
Register
This topic is archived. New comments cannot be posted and votes cannot be cast.

Responses to this topic

data/avatar/default/avatar39.webp

1457 Posts
Location -
Joined 2001-12-18
Most Dell units have the video, sound, and ethernet integrated into the motherboard. So, moving them would be impossible. In the scenario in which Dell has a separate video card and sound card apart from the motherboard, keep in mind that Dell often uses modified drivers for those cards.