help with ATI Radeon 9200 installation and setup

Hello there, I am new to NTcompatible. com. I have a sony VAIO with an SiS 651 chipset. I have been wanting to play some newer games and the graphics card that came with the machine is just not capable of running those games.

Windows Hardware 9627 This topic was started by ,

data/avatar/default/avatar25.webp

3 Posts
Location -
Joined 2004-12-27
Hello there,

I am new to NTcompatible.com. I have a sony VAIO with an SiS 651 chipset. I have been wanting to play some newer games and the graphics card that came with the machine is just not capable of running those games. After 2 years of just dealing with it and not playing the games, I finally went to the store and bought myself a ATI Radeon 9200 Graphics card in hopes of fixing my problem. Now I have the card installed but am unable to get my games to work. After reading some other peoples messages and talking with the SONY support guy online, I am thinking that my problem may lie in my inability to make the onboard graphics card secondary. Can someone help me with any sort of suggestions and/or help?

Thanks for your help in advance.

Participate on our website and join the conversation

You have already an account on our website? Use the link below to login.
Login
Create a new user account. Registration is free and takes only a few seconds.
Register
This topic is archived. New comments cannot be posted and votes cannot be cast.

Responses to this topic

data/avatar/default/avatar26.webp

690 Posts
Location -
Joined 2004-05-06
You need to DISABLE your on board graphics card via the BIOS Setup screen ie set it to 0MB graphics, then set the default display adapter to AGP rather than onboard.

3 Posts
Location -
Joined 2004-12-27
OP
Peter,

Many thanks for your suggestion. I will be trying this out and I will let you know how it turns out!

3 Posts
Location -
Joined 2004-12-27
OP
Peter,