Network not seeing Windows 2003 DHCP server

I am running a small network, using a windows 2003 machine as the DHCP server and the other computers on the network can't seem to pull ip addresses from the DHCP server. I am no expert on networking, are there any additional things I need to set up? I realize i could just use a linksys router or whatnot to do this ...

Everything New Technology 1823 This topic was started by ,

data/avatar/default/avatar21.webp

1 Posts
Location -
Joined 2004-01-28
I am running a small network, using a windows 2003 machine as the DHCP server and the other computers on the network can't seem to pull ip addresses from the DHCP server. I am no expert on networking, are there any additional things I need to set up?

I realize i could just use a linksys router or whatnot to do this, but this is kind of a little experiment to see if i can gain more control over the network using a windows server.

My current setup is as follows:

- The Server is connected on a hub with two machines running Windows XP Pro.

- I made sure that the DHCP server is activated. I am not running active directory so it is not prompting me to authorize the DHCP server.

- The DHCP Scope that is available is 192.168.1.100 - 192.168.1.199, with subnet mask 255.255.255.0

- The windows 2003 Server has two Network cards, (I am ultimately wanting to set it up as a NAT server but that will come when I can get the DHCP working) one card is set as a static ip address of 192.168.1.1 and I am telling the DHCP server to run on this interface. The other network card is connected to the internet (through a cable modem).

- I set the DHCP server options to provide my isp's DNS servers and 192.168.1.1 as a gateway to the DHCP clients.

- I have the windows XP machines set to obtain IP address and DNS information automatically. If i run ipconfig /renew it times out every time.

If any additional information is needed, I will be happy to provide it to the best of my knowledge =)